Happy New Year

It is almost 10 pm on New Year’s Eve, and I am already in my pajamas, mostly ready for bed. Reading my facebook posts, it doesn’t seem I am entirely alone; quite a few friends/family seem to be staying in. I had an offer to hang out with one of my sisters and her family. I have been telling her for almost a week that I didn’t really care, that I’d probably just stay home. Up until this evening, I still was uncertain, but after running to the store and watching the snow fall, I decided I did not want to leave the house again.

I will admit part of the reason is because I have just been feeling a little sad.  I enjoyed my holidays with my family. It is always slightly chaotic but always fun, and I love spending the time with them. This year, I just left feeling a little down, wishing I was not alone. Of course, I LOVE sharing them with Karma, more than anyone, but the idea of having our own little family, traditional family, is really something I’ve discovered I want.

A friend posted on her facebook asking to tell her the best three things that happened throughout the year.  For me, one was finally being a tourist in NYC. I cannot wait to go back and see even more. Another was continuing to be amazed by Karma. Every day there is something new she says or does. I am in awe of her and her personality and stubbornness and silliness even her naughtiness! She truly is the love of my life, but the third was about falling in love. I choose to focus on the good part of falling rather than the part where it wasn’t returned and was short lived. It IS what made me realize I do desire a (somewhat) traditional family.

I don’t generally make new years resolutions. I try to set goals for myself instead or continue to work on something I have already been focusing on. I realize this sounds like the same thing, but I really don’t look at it that way. I haven’t yet figured out what I want to work on in the new year. I’ve had many happy moments this year, and I do want to hold onto those moments and expand on them. Even as I sit here typing this, I cannot commit to any goals. My main goal in life is to ensure Karma is happy and healthy so maintaining those happy moments is extremely important.  So, I guess I figured out what I need to do for 2014.

About markat323

I am a mother, daughter, sister, aunt, friend, and librarian. I have 2 cats and a dog. I love reading, spending time gardening (of the simplest variety!), spending time with friends and family, playing card and board games and so much more. I am always up for trying new things!
This entry was posted in change, happiness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment